Undercooked Pizza

I am of the opinion that most pizza, when ordered from the average pizza place, is undercooked and doughy, except for thin crust pizza.

But the run-of-the-mill pizza (“Eastern style” is it called? Anyhow, not thin crust and not Chicago style) with typical toppings (i.e. cheese, pepperoni, mushrooms, green peppers, sausage, hamburger, onion, pineapple, jalapenos, black olives, etc.) is normally undercooked. I believe just about everyone has simply gotten used to the doughy undercooked pizza and now accept it as the way it is supposed to be. I, on the other hand, prefer my pizza thoroughly cooked, so I always order it “well-done” and viola! I get a pizza that is perfectly cooked, no doughy dough near the crust, a nice firm bottom (everyone likes a firm bottom don’t they?), and some of the cheese on top, or some of the toppings with a little tiny bit of crispiness on the higher elevated parts.

Also, why do people order cheesy bread with dipping sauce? Isn’t that basically the same as a cheese pizza?

4 Responses to Undercooked Pizza

  1. aposteriori2 says:

    This is an amazing post! and you thought that you had nothing to say! I have to admit that I havent thought about ordering my pizza well done – and I immediately suspect Little Ceasars that cooks there pizza in 12 minutes I think it is – wondering how long Clemente’s cooks theirs? I bet it is longer…..I like a lot of sause and a lot of cheese on my pizza.

  2. hypothesis says:

    Amazing? Ha! That’s funny.

    So, have you ever noticed your typical pizza seeming to be a bit doughy, especially in the thicker area just inside the ring of crust?

    If not, you may want to pay attention next time. Actually look at the dough when you bite into it. But if ignorance is bliss, you may not want to know about the dough.

    Some places, like Pizza Hut I believe, the pizzas go through on a conveyor so the cooking time should be consistent. However, I suspect the is an adjustment knob somewhere that can speed it up or slow it down.

    From a purely economic sense, cooking the pizza at the lowest possible temperature at the quickest possible speed would be the most profitable. But if it is cut that close, then it wouldn’t take much to push the pizza into the realm of undercookedness, a situation I believe happens probably 90% of the time.

    Take my advice (for what it’s worth), order your pizza well done, or order the thin crust. It’s the only two ways to go!

  3. aposteriori2 says:

    I like lots of crust to go along with lots of cheese and lots of sause….so well done is my only viable option – when I read about your well done pizza it makes my mouth water and makes me want to taste a nice well done pizza with lots of toasty topings and I beleive that you are right about this! The only thing is that I dont like my pizza all dried out – so my desire for lots of sause and cheese remains a priority! This thread is yet more evidence that you and I can talk about anything and make it interesting – at least to us!

  4. hypothesis says:

    Come to think of it, wouldn’t “Undercooked Pizza” be a great name for a band?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

